1936–1959: The Collection of Emil Bührle
Contract with P. Rosenberg, 1948


The looted art trials and the administration of the collection

Under pressure from the Allies as the Second World War drew to a close, a targeted search for pictures looted by the Germans was undertaken in Switzerland. In all 77 looted artworks were identified, 13 of which were held by Emil Bührle. Of the total, 37 belonged to the Parisian dealer Paul Rosenberg, who had left them behind when he fled to the United States. The lawsuit between Rosenberg and Bührle before the chamber on looted art of the Swiss Federal Supreme Court in Lausanne was treated as a test case, and was the first to be concluded, in 1948. Four more judgments regarding Bührle from the Supreme Court followed, which ruled that the pictures had been stolen contrary to international law and ordered their restitution.

Paul Rosenberg, who had been running a gallery in New York since 1940 and approached Bührle personally in 1945 in connection with the looted artworks, was the collector’s first encounter with a dealer of international scope who, for his part, soon recognised Bührle as an important potential client. Once the lawsuits had been settled, Emil Bührle offered to purchase the looted works a second time from Rosenberg and from the other legitimate owners who had now been identified, or their heirs. In this way, nine of the 13 looted pictures became Bührle’s rightful property while four were returned; seven of the re-acquired works are still held by the Foundation today. The last transaction was completed in February 1951. At the same time, the purchase price paid by Bührle was returned to him by the sellers, the Supreme Court having concluded that he could not have known the works had been looted in France and had acquired them in good faith.

From the start of 1948, Bührle engaged Walter Drack to act as his private secretary and collection curator at his residence. Drack was charged with systematically compiling provenance and bibliographical information on the works purchased. He drew up a comprehensive card index of the collection in which he also recorded the earlier purchases. His task was made difficult by the fact that many dealings related to the purchases were conducted during Bührle's many travels abroad, or at the factory in Oerlikon. It was here that payments were made and a second archive of correspondence was kept. The dealers selling the works were also often reluctant to disclose their sources.

Drack was succeeded in 1956 by Peter Dietschi. Thanks to the efforts of the two private secretaries, the Foundation E.G. Bührle Collection possesses an archive that is extensive compared with other collections from the 1950s. It forms the basis for provenance research that discloses and constantly updates the origin of all the paintings and sculptures held by the Foundation.

1936–1959: Die Sammlung Emil Bührle
Vertrag mit P. Rosenberg, 1948


1948–1956: Die Raubkunst-Prozesse und die Administration der Sammlung

Als auf Druck der Alliierten gegen Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs in der Schweiz gezielt nach Bildern gefahndet wurde, die von deutschen Stellen in besetzen Gebieten gestohlen worden waren, wurden 77 Raubkunst-Bilder identifiziert, 13 davon bei Emil Bührle. Ein Grossteil der geraubten Bilder gehörte dem Pariser Händler Paul Rosenberg, der sie bei seiner Flucht in die USA zurückgelassen hatte. Vor der Raubgutkammer des Schweizerischen Bundesgerichts in Lausanne wurde der Prozess zwischen Rosenberg und Bührle als Musterfall behandelt und 1948 als erster zum Abschluss gebracht. Es folgten weitere Entscheide des Bundesgerichts, die den völkerrechtswidrigen Raub der Bilder feststellten und Bührle in vier zusätzlichen Fällen zur Restitution verpflichteten.

In Paul Rosenberg, der seine Galerie seit 1940 in New York betrieb und der ihn 1945 im Zusammenhang mit den geraubten Bildern persönlich aufsuchte, begegnete Bührle erstmals einem Händler von internationalem Format, der seinerseits in Bührle schnell einen potenziell wichtigen Kunden erkannte. Nach Abschluss der Prozesse machte Emil Bührle Paul Rosenberg und den anderen jetzt ermittelten rechtmässigen Besitzern oder deren Erben das Angebot, die geraubten Bilder ein zweites Mal zu kaufen. Von den 13 Raubkunst-Bildern gingen so 9 in Bührles rechtmässiges Eigentum über, 4 gab er zurück; von den zum zweiten Mal erworbenen Werken befinden sich heute 7 in der Stiftung. Die letzte Transaktion war im Februar 1951 abgeschlossen. Gleichzeitig erhielt Emil Bührle die von ihm bezahlten Kaufpreise von den Verkäufern der Bilder zurück, da das Bundesgericht zum Schluss kam, dass er vom Bilderraub in Frankreich nicht gewusst haben konnte und die Bilder gutgläubig erworben hatte.

Ab Anfang 1948 beschäftigte Bührle in seinem Wohnhaus Dr. Walter Drack als Privatsekretär und Konservator für die Sammlung. Dracks Aufgabe war es, systematisch Provenienzen und Literaturangaben zu den gekauften Werken zusammenzustellen, wofür er eine umfassende Kartei der Sammlung erstellte und darin auch die früheren Ankäufe erfasste. Dracks Arbeit wurde dadurch erschwert, dass viele Vorgänge rund um die Ankäufe bei Bührles Auslandreisen oder in der Fabrik in Oerlikon abgewickelt wurden. Dort wurden die Zahlungen erledigt und eine zweite Korrespondenz-Ablage geführt. Ausserdem zögerten die verkaufenden Händler oft, ihre Quellen offenzulegen.

Dracks Nachfolger wurde im Jahr 1956 Dr. Peter Dietschi. Dank den Bemühungen der beiden Privatsekretäre verfügt die Stiftung Sammlung E.G. Bührle über ein im Vergleich mit anderen Sammlungen aus den 1950er Jahren umfangreiches Archiv. Es ist Grundlage für die Provenienzforschung, welche die Herkunft aller Gemälde und Skulpturen im Bestand der Stiftung auf der Website zugänglich macht und laufend aktualisiert.