1936–1959: The Collection of Emil Bührle
Bührle's most prominent picture


1946–1956

Immediately after the war ended, the number of pictures acquired temporarily decreased, but Emil Bührle nevertheless purchased works that testify to his ever-growing ambitions. In 1946 he acquired three works from Dutch Old Master specialist Nathan Katz in Basel that were attributed to Rembrandt, as well as a portrait by Frans Hals. In 1948 he purchased Paul Cézanne’s The Boy in the Red Waistcoat, one of the best-known pictures in the collection, followed in 1949 by Auguste Renoir’s Little Irene. He was less fortunate with his purchase of what was claimed to be a second version of van Gogh’s Self-Portrait Dedicated to Paul Gauguin which had eluded him in Lucerne in 1939. It was soon found to be a copy that had been reworked with fraudulent intent.

The number of works acquired increased markedly from 1951 onwards, with around 100 pictures and sculptures now routinely being added to the collection each year. Many of Emil Bührle’s purchases were made abroad, when visiting galleries while on business trips. Alongside Paul Rosenberg, the close circle of leading dealers from whom Bührle purchased included Germain Seligmann in New York, Georges Wildenstein in New York and Paris, Frank K. Lloyd of Marlborough Fine Art Ltd. in London, Max Kaganovitch in Paris as well as Walter Feilchenfeldt and Fritz Nathan in Zurich. Bührle enjoyed a particularly trusting relationship with Arthur Kauffmann, whom he had met during the First World War and who was now living in London.

In June 1954 Emil Bührle presented a slide show at the University of Zurich entitled On the Genesis of My Collection. In it, he described his own historical position within the reception of French Impressionism and explained the art-historical principles that guided him in the selection of earlier art. The text is the only surviving statement by Bührle on his collection and reveals an acute awareness of the aims he was pursuing.

1936–1959: Die Sammlung Emil Bührle
Bührles prominentestes Bild


1946–1956

Gleich nach Ende des Krieges ging die Zahl der erworbenen Bilder vorübergehend zurück, doch befanden sich unter den Käufen Bilder, die zeigen, dass Emil Bührle mit immer grösserem Ehrgeiz sammelte. 1946 erwarb Bührle bei dem auf holländische alte Meister spezialisierten Händler Nathan Katz in Basel drei als Rembrandt geltende Werke und ein Porträt von Frans Hals. 1948 kaufte er mit dem Knaben mit der roten Weste von Paul Cézanne eines der bekanntesten Bilder der Sammlung, 1949 erwarb er La petite Irène von Auguste Renoir. Weniger glücklich war der Kauf einer angeblichen zweiten Fassung des Selbstbildnisses für Gauguin von van Gogh, das Bührle 1939 in Luzern entgangen war. Das Bild stellt sich bald als Kopie heraus, die in betrügerischer Absicht überarbeitet worden war.

Mit dem Jahr 1951 stieg die Zahl der erworbenen Werke sprunghaft an und umfasste jetzt regelmässig gegen 100 Bilder und Skulpturen pro Jahr. Viele Kaufentscheide traf Emil Bührle auf Auslandreisen, bei denen er am Rande geschäftlicher Verpflichtungen Galerien besuchte. Neben Paul Rosenberg gehörten zum engeren  Kreis führender Händler, bei denen Bührle einkaufte: Germain Seligmann in New York, Georges Wildenstein in New York und Paris, Frank K. Lloyd von Marlborough Fine Art in London, Max Kaganovitch in Paris sowie Walter Feilchenfeldt und Fritz Nathan in Zürich. Ein besonderes Vertrauensverhältnis verband Bührle mit Arthur Kauffmann, dem er im Ersten Weltkrieg begegnet war und der inzwischen in London lebte.

Im Juni 1954 hielt Emil Bührle an der Universität Zürich einen Dia-Vortrag: Vom Werden meiner Sammlung.Darin schilderte er die eigene historische Stellung innerhalb der Rezeption des französischen Impressionismus und erläuterte die kunsthistorischen Prinzipien, die ihn bei der Auswahl der älteren Kunst leiteten. Der Text ist die einzige überlieferte Äusserung Bührles zu seiner Sammlung und verrät ein präzises Bewusstsein für die angestrebten Ziele.